Ms. May

Birthday: May 26

Hometown: Amarillo, TX

Other language: Spanish

Favorite Crayola color: Vivid violet

Background: I started babysitting about 4 years ago for neighbor children ranging from 3 to 13. A majority of my childcare experience is with children 3-14, but I am currently gaining more experience with children younger than 2. For about the past 6 years I have been involved in classes for elementary school kids and empowerment groups for middle school age youth in different parts of Kansas, Missouri, Iowa, and Florida. Through working in these settings I have seen how the ability to express oneself is tremendously empowering and valuable-- especially for children-- and so I love sharing the arts with kids and giving them opportunities to express themselves in creative ways! In addition, I am a big fan of encouraging children to learn throughexploring the world around them, asking questions, and spending time in nature.

I have experience with older youth on the autism spectrum, and some exposure to working with 6-7 year olds with autism. I have some knowledge of Augmentative and Alternative Communication and can quickly learn how to assist with devices and communication tools.

Future plans: After I graduate with my BS in Communication Sciences and Disorders from FSU, I plan on obtaining my Master’s and PhD in Speech-Language Pathology in order to work clinically with elementary and middle school children and do research related to adolescent language and cognition.

When she's not babysitting: I spend most of my free time involved in community building activities here in Tallahassee focused on empowering individuals and communities to take charge of their own material, spiritual, and intellectual progress. I am especially focused on a neighborhood based program for 11-14 year olds that focuses on service to the community, building a strong moral foundation, and strengthening powers of expression. I also love music and painting, and when I’m not rehearsing or performing with the TCC African Drum and Dance Ensemble (as a drummer), I’ll play my guitar and sing. My heart is always happy when I’m spending time outside hiking, camping, or just enjoying the day. And of course, all of these activities are made exponentially better with friends around!

Defining quotes: “The betterment of the world can be accomplished through pure and goodly deeds, through commendable and seemly conduct.”