Ms. Maria

Birthday: August 11

Hometown: Winter Springs, FL

Favorite Crayola color: Turquoise Blue

Background:  I have always had a soft spot for children! I love their energy and willingness to try just about anything. I began babysitting for various families when I was in high school and continued by spending the summer building a school for children in Belize. This was by far one of the most rewarding experiences for me! I also spent a few summers working as a camp counselor for kids ages 6-14 where I was able to foster an environment of creativity, physical activity, and numerous academic activities. Being a sitter provides me the opportunity to make a positive impact on a child, even if it is just for a few hours!

I have had experience with children with severe peanut allergies.

She’s cared for children as young as: 6 months old

Future plans: I am a student at Florida State studying Communications and a Anthropology minor. After I graduate I want to work for a non-profit organization in their fundraising departments. 

When she's not babysitting: I love the game of soccer, so anytime I can be outside and play I take full advantage of it. Also, before I go to bed every night I spend 30 minutes reading a good book (especially Harry Potter)!

Defining quotation: "Don't let the fear of striking out keep you from playing the game." - Babe Ruth 

Obviously we were impressed with Maria and [our daughter] said she’d like her to come back so I’m glad she’s available most of the days we need her. 😊
— Kathlyn H.