Ms. Laney

Birthday: April 6 

Hometown: Cape Coral, Florida

Favorite Crayola Color: Cornflower

Background: I am currently a student at Florida State University pursuing a degree in education! I have been around young kids and working with them for as long as I can remember. I started babysitting in 7th grade, I have experience with newborns as well as teens and even quadruplets! One of the families for whom I frequently babysat for had a 2 year old and a 6 month old. I would usually babysit for them every other week for about 5 or 6 hours. I was able to care for and entertain the two children without resorting to TV or technology. We played games, read books and other fun age-appropriate activities. Another family I provided care for had quadruplets at 7 months old. Along with the quadruplets, they had a 3 year old as well as a 5 year old. I usually cared for the multiples with another sitter. Although it was a busy time, we were able to keep the children safe and entertained. For the past 7 years, I have been involved with a program called TOPSoccer where I helped and worked with children who have cognitive and/or physical disabilities. This program holds a special place in my heart as well as all of the kids I have worked alongside on the soccer field with! 

She’s cared for children as young as: 6 months old

Future plans: I plan on majoring in education, however, I’m unsure of what I want to teach! I could either see myself as an elementary school teacher or a high school anatomy teacher!

When she’s not babysitting: When I’m not babysitting, I am either studying, with friends or somewhere outside! Outdoors is my favorite, I love the beach, golfing and hiking! 

Defining quotation: “What is done in love, is done well” - Vincent Van Gogh