Ms. Emily

Birthday: November 3

Hometown: Tallahassee, FL

Other languages spoken: Intermediate Spanish

Favorite Crayola color: Mountain Meadow

Background: I was born and raised in Tallahassee. As a kid I always loved exploring the many parks our city has to offer. I graduated cum laude from SAIL. Since high school, I’ve completed an Associate in Arts degree from Tallahassee Community College. Currently, I am working towards admission into Florida State University’s TEACH program to earn a Bachelor’s degree in Environmental Sciences and an Education degree. I hope to combine the knowledge from these two degrees to become a phenomenal science teacher in the near future, while also working towards farthing my Environmental Science degree to the Master’s or Doctoral level. In July 2015, I married my high school sweetheart and became Mrs. Emily! I first started babysitting with two children ages 4 and 8 when I was 14 years old since then I have had the pleasure of watching many children grow and make the great endeavor into teen-hood. I began working with Seminole Sitters in March of 2014 have since met many wonderful families, all with a variety of childcare needs; I greatly enjoy adapting to the different needs of each child and parent. I feel being flexible and eager to learn to better serve families will help me to gain valuable experience for being an educator one day.

I have experience with children with developments delays, asthma, children who have tested on the autism spectrum, ADHD, seizures, bipolar disorder, and children who are paraplegic.

Future plans: I will be transferring to FAMU's School of the Environment in Spring 2015. I'll be working towards a Master's degree in Environmental Sciences with a minor in Restoration. I hope to one day save the Earth!

When she's not babysitting: I most enjoy cooking with my husband, Khalil, whether it’s some of our childhood favorites or a new recipe from another culture or country, it’s fun creating a delicious meal together. We also love taking our dog to a local park and walking the nature trails. As a very proud aunt, I adore spending time with my nephew and my niece. Eugene, Raegan, and I love reading books, using our imagination to play pretend, or watching a funny movie together. I also immensely love my two animals: a Shih Tzu-Pekingese mix “Phoof” and a calico kitten “Cleo”. As a full-time student I frequently can be found studying or just brushing up on some knowledge. My favorite areas of study are ecology, chemistry, biology, geology, and trigonometry! When I can I love to visit my extended family in Carrabelle Beach and Mexico Beach!

Defining quotation: "A scientist in his laboratory is not a mere technician: he is also a child confronting natural phenomena that impress him as though they were fairy tales." - Marie Curie

We loooooooved Emily!!!! She was so awesome and I want her again, lol! She made our house look better than when we left. She put things away neatly, folded what she used, and she was so loving and told us everything about the kids. It was so fantastic!!! She was absolutely awesome with Jacob and he loved telling us all of the fun things that she did with him!
— Christina H.
Emily was fantastic I was thoroughly impressed with how experienced she seemed and how well she worked with the children. The kids really did enjoy her. My middle child actually gave her a hug which is seriously unheard of for him!!
— Mandi L.